• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

They all look alike…

I’m in Japan, presenting at LinuxWorld Expo, meeting with Novell partners here, stuff like that.

The Novell Japan team had a reception for their team, partners, and visiting employees. Visting employees were asked to make a short introduction speech. When I got up, several of my Japanese counterparts chided me, saying “Tom Cruise…Last Samurai.” Nice compliment and all, but…jeez! what a reach.

I was a guero growing up in San Jose, and I’ve been a gweilo in Hong Kong. Here, I get to be the dude who avenged the last of the samurai. That’s fun. Domo Arigato, Nippon!

Leave a Reply

