• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

Resurrecting a Dead Banshee

One of the open source projects for which I have extreme anticipation is Banshee, the Mono-based music player for Linux desktops.

From the Banshee wiki:

With Banshee you can easily import, manage, and play selections from your music collection. Banshee allows you to import CDs, sync your music collection to an iPod, play music directly from an iPod, create playlists with songs from your library, and create audio and MP3 CDs from subsets of your library.

For me, anticipation is dangerous, because I want something today won’t get here until tomorrow. That means I have to force things. Anticipation makes me break stuff.

The good news for hungry OSS enthusiasts is that the latest build of Banshee…version 0.10.2…now can be built and updated on SUSE Linux with a lot more ease than before because the guys working on this project have updated the instructions for doing the build.

There was still some cryptic stuff for me, but I managed to sleuth out all the required packages and get them installed. I’m all about shortening adoption curves, so I posted what I learned as a step-by-step on the Banshe wiki.

See? I still got my tech.

Leave a Reply

