• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

Xgl in Hi-Def and More

We just completed some cool videos on SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop. One of them shows of some of the cool features on Xgl.

Guy and I worked on these with a local production shop. It was a long, grueling afternoon to get them made. I was really afraid that they would come out horrible, but they seem pretty good.

My one worry about them is that I mention that Active Directory is the main authentication system in most enterprises. As the former director of product management for Novell eDirectory, let me tell you: I hate saying that. Unfortunately, it’s true.

I look at it like this:

  • The masses demand cheap and crappy fast food, so it’s found everywhere where money is spent
  • The masses also demand cheap and crappy top 40 music, so it gets played on the radio

Just because something is popular does not mean it’s good or good for you. I’m still completely against Active Directory. But since Windows servers are a reality, it’s a necessary evil for most businesses.

We have an interview about Novell Client for Linux queued up, which will answer the eDirectory authentication bit.

2 Responses

  1. It’s all about the apps. All 3000 users on my network still authenticate through eDirectory, but we have to use Windows servers because we have these screwball apps that only work on Windows.

    If it were up to me, I’d replace every Windows server with Linux, but there’s no way I can count on Wine, the apps just don’t exist for Linux, and I can’t convince the business to use an app they don’t like just because it runs on Linux.

    Every time of of the Sith Lords on mahogany row start talking about server standardisation, the least common denominator is going to be Windows! Oh, the humanity!

    What are we to do? Can we convince the screwball app vendors of the world to support Linux?

    Will Mono restore balance to the force?

    Bone

  2. Bone:
    “Sith Lords on Majogany Row”? That manages to be simultaneously dorky and profound.

    Kudos!

    –Ted

Leave a Reply

