• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

Banshee Plugins–It’s the Little Things!

With the arrival of beta 9 of SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop, the STAC9200 sound card in my monster Dell machine suddenly came to life. (Even better: the kernel patch was contributed in by one of the ingenious SUSE developers.)

And my Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG device woke up too. (No thanks to Guy Lunardi, who had a developer build from Intel but would not share it. Sure, he was faithfully honoring his agreement with Intel…but I was wireless-less, damnit!)

That left one last thing: the multimedia keys on my Inspiron 9400’s front edge remained unresponsive. I hate searching for key-binding graphical applications almost as much as I hate manually binding keys from the command line.
In comes Banshee to the rescue. A handy Multimedia Keys plugin has shown up in Banshee in this build of SLED10, giving me a straightforward interface in just the application where one would expect it to be. Banshee was already cool, but its plugin architecture is what will make it rocket past it’s OSS peers.

Multimedia keys. Sometimes it’s the little things, you know?

2 Responses

  1. I like the look of Banshee. iTunes is the only reason I keep my system as Dual Boot. marok wont import and the other players don’t seem to support AAC encoding/importing.

    I recently installed my first linux os (Suse 10.1 KDE 3.5)… but I am yet to hear a squeak out of Banshee. The GStreamer is hopeless. And no other engines out there for Suse 10.1) The banshee page is no help because I don’t know enough about Mono (and seemingly, neither does my OS). Any suggestion, Rev?
    Thanks.

  2. Tommy:
    Hmmmm…I’m not sure, since I’m spending most of my time on SLED10 these days. However, maybe we can get the mighty Aaron Bockover to chime in.
    –Rev

Leave a Reply

