• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

Nvidia delays UK LUG Tour

Not really, but it feels like it because I should be packing right now, but I could not resist updating to beta 10 of SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop, which came out today, and then I noticed that Nvidia has released 8756 of their Linux driver, so I have to try to see whether it fixes a minor issue with Xgl I have been having, but these things seem to always cause me hellacious issues and yet I still cannot help but attempt the upgrade despite that every time it ends up causing me delays, near misses of flights and undue panic.

One Response

  1. I’m guessing Novell provided you with a Dell business laptop but have you seen their latest XPS “home system”? http://www1.us.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/xpsnb_m1710

    To quote the site it offers “a choice of brushed metal armor [red or black], a red backlit touchpad and three user-controllable lighting areas with 16 color choices.” I think the only thing Dell didn’t do was turn the Dell logo on the lid a “spinner.”

    Xgl would probably fly with the optional 512MB Nvidia GeForce Go 7900 GTX graphics card, once the Linux driver was ironed out.

Leave a Reply

