• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

UK LUG Tour, Day 2: Greater London Linux User Group


Great bunch of folks at the Greater London Linux User Group. And I say that not just because LUG leader Simon Morris bought me a pint after the show. I linked the headline of this post to Simon’s review of our presentations.

Jono delivered a solid talk about advocating open source effectively–a subject he and I discuss frequently.

I spoke about “Desktop Innovation at Novell,” the basic theme of which is that much of the really cool new stuff happening in desktop Linux is happening at Novell. I always bear some apprehension about doing this talk, because I unapologetically extol Novell’s virtues. (I also show off a lot of SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 10, like Beagle, Banshee, F-spot, Xgl, and several usability changes to the Gnome desktop interface. These things back up the discussion very well.) So, I was really pleased at how well the talk was received. During Q&A one guy actually called out how impressed he was with everything I had shown.

Tonight, we’re off to Manchester where I speak about AppArmor, something that will be much more challenging for me.

6 Responses

  1. So what’s the current score? Ted 1 Jono 0? Ted 0 Jono 1? Or was it a tie?

  2. Yep – it was well worth the price of a pint.. not the price of a pint *and* a packet of crisps, but y’know..

    There is another review here.. http://beerandspeech.org/index.php?/archives/70-Jono-Bacon-and-Ted-Haeger-at-GLLUG.html

    Cheers

    Simon Morris

  3. Interesting stuff it was too. I’m a SUSE fan anyway so was interested to see what I can get my hands on in 10.1, but I don’t think any of us felt you were just “bigging-up” Novell as a lot of the stuff was applicable to any distro. Well worth a look if anyone is thinking of going along to a LUG where Ted & Jono are speaking.

  4. Busy guy! Sounds like fun, but the “Travels with Ted” always we.

  5. During Q&A one guy actually called out how impressed he was with everything I had shown.

    That guy is real and has a name: Ottavio Caruso aka Pr0f3550r.

    My remark was actually so genuine that I didn’t even get an I-Pooh… ehm… I-Pod.

  6. Ottavio:
    Heh…and you wonder why I passed you over on the iPod?🙂
    Thanks again for the encouraging words.
    –T

Leave a Reply

