• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

Show Me that New KDE Main Menu?

After featuring so much GNOME stuff on the lead up to the release of SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop, a couple readers assailed me with directives to give some love to KDE.

While I was in Nuremberg, Coolo and I conspired to post a sneak-peak at the SUSE KDE team’s work on the new main menu that they have been prototyping around the time that we post his interview.

Looks like Stephan Binner has posted a flash movie of the “Kickoff” menu in action. So, if you missed its meteoric rise on Digg, check it out.

By the way, while I was at LUGRadio Live, I spoke with the peeps at the Kubuntu counter. They were friendly, but one did make some kind of snide remark to me like, “SUSE still does stuff on KDE?” Yes, Kubuntu counter guy, but its mostly this crazy stuff called research-based innovation.😉

One Response

  1. Funny. When I first saw the Gnome ‘Computer Menu’, I was in awe. It went something like this: “Oooh. Wow. I _need_ that.” So I installed the SLED RC, and used Gnome for a while, but I just couldn’t get over it not being KDE. So, I logged into KDE. And there was the stock KDE menu. I felt I was cheated, ignored, subclassed. I switched back to ‘openSuSE’, figuring, if I’m going to use KDE, not the cool Gnome ‘Computer Menu’, not compiz, not banshee, and very very not beagle (the only time my CPU ever went busy beagle was the culprit), I might as well not use SLED. And shortly thereafter I realized that EVERYTHING COOL ABOUT THE GNOME COMPUTER MENU WAS ALREADY ON THE KDE MENU, it just didn’t look as cool. After a few uses, there were _my_ applications, right at the top. Trouble finding an app, there’s the / search bar, right there. Recent Docs? No prob. And I even knew how to _edit_ it. (I still haven’t figured out how to get shortcuts onto the Gnome Application Browser thingie). So, yeah, I’m happy the KDE is getting some more love & a new style, but I don’t feel like I’m missing anything right now. I’m at peace with my start menu.

    So if you really want to impress me, show me ‘Desktop Effects’ in KDE without making all the KDE desktop settings broken (like the desktop pager, or the decorations, or the default snapping…) and without having to use Gnome configurators…

Leave a Reply

