• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

Response to Luis Villa’s Inquiry

Quothe Luis Villa:

What exactly are you doing these days at bungee anyway, Ted? ‘ted haeger site:bungeelabs.com’ turns up zilch, which makes me suspect that if you’re still a community manager, you’re not managing much. (August 31, 2007 @ 2:06 pm)

Luis:

I decided to elevate the response to your comment to the blog level because it’s a totally fair question.

First, the technical note: the search you did won’t reveal anything much because bungeelabs.com is not yet crawlable by Google. The site is an Ajax application created with Bungee Connect. One of our long list of to-do’s is crawlability for Bungee-powered applications.

Nevertheless, you point out that I should probably document some of the community work that I am doing (along with Alex Barnett and others) at Bungee Labs. I’ll add that as an ongoing conversational topic.

In the mean time, I have two things to point to:

  1. I finally got the first edition of the new podcast online. Welcome to The Bungee Line.
  2. At the same time, I have been slowly kicking up a blog for Bungee Connect Developer Network, too.

2 Responses

  1. Didn’t mean that in an accusatory way, BTW, Ted; on re-reading I realize it may have come off that way. You just mentioned web-devel, and hadn’t talked much about community lately, so I figured I had to ask🙂

    If I had to suggest something, seeing that you’re still doing that, I’d suggest the focus of this blog (if you want to keep doing it, which you may not want to, of course) should be on the challenges of building a developer community (like the one Bungee is trying to build) and/or the challenges of using dynamic websites (like the sites Bungee is trying to enable) to build community. You’re obviously eminently qualified to talk about both, and I’m sure you see enough in your day-to-day to keep the site interesting and relevant for the new communities your company is trying to address.

  2. Hmmm. I just wish I knew more about what you guys (bungee) do. It’s difficult for me to be interested anymore because I am not qualified….I know the Novell Community has taken a hit since you have been gone. I do give the Open Audio guys a shout out for pressing on without you. I hope all is well. Later. -Norm

Leave a Reply

