• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

Thank you, eMusic: DRM-free Audiobooks

An interesting recent move by emusic: Audiobooks in mp3 format.

Until now, Audible.com has been my provider of choice (in a world of few choices). But I’m also an eMusic subscriber. I got into Audible.com a long time ago. I got in early, and have enjoyed a generous subscription rate ever since. So, I will not switch immediately. However, the chances of me referring many new customers in Audible.com’s direction just got pretty slim. Go, eMusic!

One Response

  1. This is awesome news. I’ve been using audible for years, and will continue to since I can’t get all the titles I want from Emusic. Over the years, I’ve hated all the extra work I have to do to get my books to play. Burn them to disk, rip them back into mp3 so that I can have a permanent digital storage where the files won’t get locked at some point in the future. It takes hours of work to do all this. With the DRM free from Emusic, I’ll just have to download and play. Woohoo! Bad ass! It will be worth having an account on both sites, so that I can download content from Emusic if they have it, just to save myself from having to do all that extra work for each book.

Leave a Reply

