• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

SALT for your Brain Food

If you wonder where the world is heading, and want to gain perspective beyond the brief experience and limited viewpoint that our workaday lives permit, I strongly recommend getting into the Seminars on Longterm Thinking from the Long Now Foundation. Fair warning: these are pretty much the antithesis of the MTV-shaped media world. Each edition, most over an hour make you think deeply about whatever subject it presents.

Background
I feel like I have known the Long Now thinkers for much of my life. While it was Nat Friedman who turned me on to the SALT lectures about a year and a half ago (I credit and thank him duly), I took interest because I had heard about the Long Now Foundation some years earlier from Tech TV’s program Big Thinkers. That program introduced me to Stewart Brand, his foundation, and a 10,000 year clock–a physical clock that chimes every 10 thousand years, to be located somewhere out in Nevada’s Great Basin desert. Brian Eno–the musician who produced the Talking Heads, U2, Devo and many other breakout bands–is involved in the Long Now, and that was the main thing that originally grabbed my attention. I’ve listened to Eno’s music since high school (Before and After Science again and again and again). Do all roads lead to Eno?

Leave a Reply

