• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

Thank you, Dopplr!

In the expanding world of social software, much of which centers around Facebook, a few stand-out applications truly demonstrate the utility of the web’s social revolution. I put Dopplr in that category.

Dopplr allows you to post your travel plans, and see those of your contacts within the Dopplr network. For frequent business travelers like me, this turns out to be exceptionally valuable. Last week, I remembered that I had not updated Dopplr with my upcoming trip to New York City, which starts today. This morning, as I was finishing packing, my good friend Greg Pryzby drops me a note to say:

“Dood…. I am up for the day on the 18th… what is your schedule in the morning? I can catch an early train and we can grab a coffee (maybe).”

Sweet! I love Greg. I met him during my tenure at Novell. He’s a wonderful person and an avid open-source technologist. He lives near Washington, D.C., and since we both parted ways with Novell, we just don’t see each other very often. Thank you for connecting me with a good friend of mine, Dopplr.

Another Dopplr victory was when I went to Chicago a couple months back. I wanted to take my coworker Brad Hintze for really good Chicago-style pizza (and, not Pizzaria Uno!). But I could not remember the pizza place that my friend Doreen Christiani had taken me to several years back. I did a quick search on Dopplr, and found everyone in the Dopplr community raving about Lou Malnati’s. Sure enough, that was the place Doreen had taken me. Thank you for leading me to great eats, Dopplr. My colleague thought me a genius!

Leave a Reply

