• Categories

  • Wayback Machine

  • My Defunct Podcast

    The Bungee Line was an audio podcast for web developers, covering web API's, software development, and the creation of richly interactive web applications.

    podcast feed  Main Feed

My Response to the “Audible.com Customer Survey July 2009”

I have been loving Audible.com for many years. This month, they sent out a customer survey, and I decided to respond to it.

The first two (of five) questions are:

  1. How likely is it that you would recommend Audible.com to a friend or colleague? Please use a scale of 0-10 where 0 is “not likely at all” and 10 is “extremely likely”.
    (I gave them a 5.)
  2. What is the primary reason for the score you just gave us?

That second question was open-ended, so I opened up and gave them what I hope they will see as a really good suggestion:

I have been with Audible for a very long time. Consequently, I get a really good deal on books compared to what Audible offers to new subscribers. Audible.com for me is part of my lifestyle.

I used to promote Audible.com a lot, but too many people told me that they think that the current pricing is not really that good of a deal.

Want people like me to promote Audible more? Do something Seth-Godin-outrageous: Instead of giving me a book credit for recruiting a new subscriber, allow customers like me to invite my friends to enjoy the same great subscription level I do. Recognize my loyalty by making me very popular with my friends. Deepen my fidelity to you by giving me a very special status among Audible.com members. Activate your network of long-time subscribers to start recruiting again by putting them in a special club! And, make it an exclusive–no one who becomes a subscriber this way gets the same invitation privileges…this special status is only for Original Members. Unless you are losing money on me every month, how could this go wrong?

Incidentally, I notice that there is no tit-for-tat for this survey. Why aren’t you giving away a single-month magazine subscription to each member who responds to this survey? If customer feedback–mine, and that of others–is valuable enough to spend your employees’ time to gether, doesn’t it make sense to incent customers to spend some time providing it to you? (The account is “thaeger,” thanks.)

I’ve made suggestions to Audible.com before, and never heard a peep back from them. Now that they are apparently owned by Amazon, I hope that they have gotten better at listening.

Leave a Reply

